Gov. Rick Snyder signed legislation last night to raise the minimum wage in Michigan over four years to $9.25 an hour, up from the current $7.40 an hour.
The new minimum wage will thus be fully in force by 2018, and each year thereafter the rate will be raised either by the rate of inflation or by 3.5 percent, whichever is lower.
"I commend my partners in the Legislature for finding common ground on a bill that will help Michigan workers and protect our state's growing economy," Snyder said. "Michigan is the comeback state, and our goal always should be long-term success for our residents and our state as a whole."