Key Agency Nominations Languish in Congress

As just one reminder of how agency nominations are slogging through Congress, this past week the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) Committee indefinitely postponed its vote on Sharon Fast Gustafson to be general counsel of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC).


Nominated in June 2017 to be EEOC chair, Janet Dhillon has still not been voted on

The postponement could spell trouble for her nomination due to a lack of votes to send her name to the Senate floor. Republicans hold a one-vote majority on the committee.

Even ambassadorial nominations are facing long-term confirmation processes. This past week, after seven months, Richard Grenell was finally approved as ambassador to Germany.

Some other notable languishees include:

  • Janet Dhillon: originally nominated on June 29, 2017, to be EEOC chair
  • Daniel Gade: originally nominated on Aug. 2, 2017, to be EEOC commissioner
  • Cheryl Stanton: originally nominated on Sept. 5, 2017, to be the Wage and Hour Division (WHD) administrator
  • Scott Mugno: originally nominated on Nov. 1, 2017, to be assistant secretary for the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)

NOTE: The details in this blog are provided for informational purposes only. All answers are general in nature and do not constitute legal advice. If legal advice or other expert assistance is required, the services of a competent professional should be sought. The author specifically disclaims any and all liability arising directly or indirectly from the reliance on or use of this blog.
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Comments (required)*