President Obama has renominated Mark Gaston Pearce as chairman of the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB). He also named two Republicans to the board, labor attorneys Harry I. Johnson III and Philip A. Miscimarra.

Earlier this year, the president renominated Democrats Sharon Block and Richard Giffin to the NLRB after a federal court ruled their recess appointments were unconstitutional, calling into question all decisions reached by the board while they were on it, which they still are.

Senator Lamar Alexander, R-Tenn., ranking member of the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions, reacted to the nominations by saying that "the two individuals who were unconstitutionally appointed should leave, because the decision in which they continue to participate are invalid."