While most states are staying pat and one–Colorado–has actually lowered its minimum wage rate in 2010, Nevada and Illinois are bucking the trend with upticks coming July 1.

Acting in accord with an amendment to the Nevada Constitution added in 2006, Labor Commissioner Michael Tanchek announced that his department is increasing the state minimum wage on July 1 by 70 cents.

Those with health insurance on the job will see their minimum wage rise from $6.55 an hour to $7.25; those without health benefits will receive a raise to $8.25 an hour.

Also on July 1, employees with health benefits earning less than $10.875 per hour and employees earning less than $12.375 per hour without health benefits must be paid overtime if they work more than eight hours in a 24-hour period.

The state minimum wage affects 100,000 Nevadans, or about 7.9 percent of the workforce.

Illinois will surpass California and Massachusetts and catch Connecticut on July 1 when its minimum wage rises from $8 to $8.25 an hour. Two states will have higher minimum wages: Washington is tops at $8.55 an hour, followed by Oregon at $8.40.

Some exemptions to the $8.25 rate in Illinois include tipped employees, who must be paid $4.95 an hour (up from $4.65) starting July 1; trainees during the first 90 days on the job, for whom the rate will be $7.75 an hour; and those under 18 years of age, who can be paid 50 cents less than the minimum wage.

Illinois’ minimum wage law is not indexed to inflation. The federal minimum wage stands at $7.25 but is already superceded by Illinois’ (and other states’) current rate. 

Personnel Concepts Space Saver-1 All-On-One State and Federal Labor Law Poster holders for those states who purchased update subscriptions will receive any necessary panel changes by mail. Others may inquire by calling Customer Service at (800) 333-3795.