Oregon will hike its minimum wage by 30 cents to $8.80 an hour come Jan. 1, 2012, adjusting the rate for 3.77-percent inflation as recorded by the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for the period ending Aug. 30, 2011.

Oregon is one of 10 states to hitch its minimum wage to the CPI. Washington, also one of the 10, will announce its increase today.

The CPI, published by the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics, is a measure of the average change in prices over time for a fixed "market basket" of goods and services, such as food, shelter, medical care, transportation fares and other goods and services people purchase for day-to-day living.

"Oregonians recognize the rising cost of living facing every one of us, and our strong minimum wage law is essential insurance that Oregon workers and their families can maintain their purchasing power and continue to contribute to our local economies," said State Labor Commissioner Brad Avakian.

The Oregon All-On-One State and Federal Labor Law Poster ships with all the required state posters. Those who subscribe to the Personnel Concepts update service will receive the new minimum panel in the quarterly mailings. Others can call Customer Service at (800) 333-3795 to inquire about obtaining one.