With no explanation for his early resignation, Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) member Stuart Ishimaru has announced that he will be leaving his post two months before his commission expires.

Ishimaru was appointed by former President George W. Bush in 2003 and was for a time the chairman of the EEOC, a post now held by Jacqueline Berrien.

Ishimaru prior to joining the commission enjoyed a lengthy career in civil rights posts, including U.S. Commissioner on Civil Rights and Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights.

In addition to Chair Berrien (D), the remaining members of the EEOC are Constance S. Barker (R), Chai Feldblum (D), and Victoria A. Lipnic (R).

Ishimaru's commission would have expired on July 1 had he not chosen to resign early.