Victoria Lipnic

The controversial renomination of Chai Feldblum to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) died at noon on Jan. 3 as one Congress exited and another commenced. So too did the nominations of Daniel Gade and Janet Dhillon, leaving the 2019 board without a quorum. (Reportedly, Gade had already withdrawn his name for consideration prior to the expiration date.)

Sen. Mike Lee (R.-Utah) in early December placed a hold on Feldblum’s vote based on his disapproval of some of her views. The hold also applied to Gade and Dhillon since the three were nominated as a package.

“What a wonderful almost nine-year run I have had!” Feldblum wrote on Facebook as her term expired. “I will always be grateful for the wonderful colleagues I have served with on the commission. Thank you to everyone who worked so hard for my confirmation. We certainly gave it our best shot. Now is the time to fight even harder for diversity, safety, and equity. There is no other way!”

Feldblum joined the EEOC in April 2010. Victoria A. Lipnic, acting chair, and Charlotte A. Burrows are the only two active members left on the commission.